Students' Union

Students' Union

There is a Students’ Union in the college to maintain discipline amongst the students and to train them for sharing responsibilities of the Developmental activities of the students’ community, thereby, to become responsible citizens of the state. The election is held strictly in accordance with the regulations laid down in Lyngdoh Committee Report. The contesting candidates should go through the regulations before deciding to contest for any office.

Every student becomes a member of the union body after regular admission to the college and enjoys the right to vote and participate in union activities. The office bearers of the union are elected by secret ballot for the portfolios as enlisted below:

  1. General Secretary
  2. Assistant General Secretary
  3. Secretary, Literary Activities
  4. Assistant Secretary, Literary Activities
  5. Secretary, Games & Sports
  6. Assistant Secretary, Games & Sports
  7. Secretary, Cultural Activities
  8. Assistant Secretary, Cultural Activities
  9. Secretary, Social Service
  10. Assistant Secretary, Social Service
  11. Editor, College Magazine

(Note: - No other portfolio shall be officially recognized as there is no such provision in the Constitution of Students’ Union, DNGC)

However, in view of the semester system, the contesting candidates should be from either from IIIrd semester or Vth semester. In case any office bearer after declaration of end semester result in month of January declared fail, their candidature against the respective portfolios automatically will stand cancelled and accordingly respective portfolio will remain vacant till the further new Union Body formation in the next consecutive session.