Welcome to the Physics Department

The department of physics was established in July, 2001 aiming to cultivate scientific outlook and for the advancement of science and technology in the region. During the course of B.Sc. (PCM) the department offers the study of mathematical and computational physics, classical mechanics, quantum mechanics, solid state physics, electronic and communication, atomics and nuclear physics, statistical mechanics, optics, electricity and magnetism, heat and thermodynamics. For developing interest, skill and practical knowledge of the subject, the department is well equipped with well furnished laboratories (electronic laboratory, optics laboratory and general laboratory) and smart room for smart classes. To contribute to the understanding of experimental and theoretical physics, research laboratory with sophisticated instruments focusing on various areas of research such as material science, nanoscience and theoretical physics have been developed. The students are actively participating in research work and paper presentations. Also, the faculties are actively involved in various research projects funded by UGC.

  1. Dr. Bandana Gogoi, M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. (HoD)
  2. Dr. Hage Doley, M.Sc., Ph.D.
  3. Dr. Gyati Tachang Tado, M.Sc., Ph.D.
  4. Dr. Nabaratna Bhagawati, M.Sc., Ph.D.
  5. Dr. Oimang Borang, M.Sc., Ph.D. (Guest Faculty)