Welcome to the Zoology Department

The department of Zoology, Dera Natung Govt. College was established in the year 2001 and the pass course in zoology was introduced during the session 2001-2002. The Honours course in Zoology was introduced during the session 2004-2005. The new Semester system was introduced during the session 2013-14. The founder head of the department was Mr. T. P. Borah. The department has one practical laboratory for the students and a more advanced research laboratory. One instrumentation room houses the major instruments like UV-Vis Spectrophotometer, Evon Core Phase contrast research microscope with PC and software, pH meter, water analysis kit, Microphotographic attachments and other instruments. The department has one SMART classroom with ICT and one gallery. The department also has one IT Laboratory, which is used by the members of the parent department as well as students of other departments, especially commerce and mathematics, both for classroom as well as examinations.

The department is continuously producing meritorious and dedicated students. The students of the department have been serving the society as scientists, professors, bureaucrats, health officers, senior teachers and various other capacities. Eminent alumni’s from the department have made their ways into various CSIR laboratories and even to prestigious Mayo Clinic, USA and other reputed organizations. The department has been constantly producing the overall topper (GOLD MEDAL) of the undergraduate (UG) level, among all the colleges of Arunachal Pradesh for 3 (three) consecutive sessions 2013-14, 2014-15 and 2015-16.

  1. Dr. Prasanta Nanda, M.Sc., Ph.D. (HoD)
  2. Mr. Bari Dabi, M.Sc.
  3. Dr. H. Sharma, M.Sc., Ph.D.
  4. Dr. Dobiam Narba, M.Sc., Ph.D.
  5. Dr. Karsing Megu, M.Sc., Ph.D.